Obi Castle was originally completed in 1588. It was built by the Tsuchimochi clan in the Nanboku-cho period, but most of its structure dates from the mid-1400s.
Some areas, such as the main gate in the south, were renovated and reinforced with stones in the Edo period after the great earthquake in 1684.
After a period of neglect, the castle was completely renovated in the late 1970s.
During the renovation of the castle, work was also carried out on the castle town, which is now also called Kyushu's little Kyoto. The renovation works on the city combine their historical authenticity with the era of the castle, so that the city and the castle today represent an authentic reflection of a castle town from the Edo period.
1-hour train ride from Miyazaki Station to Obi Station, followed by a 20-minute walk to the castle grounds.
The Obi Castle Ruins sit at the northern edge of the quaint, rural town of Obi in Nichinan, Miyazaki.
Your feedback has been sent.