- 1 min read

En-no-ji Temple in Kita-Kamakura

The Ten Kings of Hades

En-no-ji Temple enshrines the ten Kings of Hades—whom we meet when we die. Buddhism teaches that we will cross a river, San-zu-no-kawa River (‘The Border’), after we die. There, the ten Kings judge us one by one. At first, each King investigates the newcomer seven times every seven days, then 100 days later, one year later, and three years later. The greatest king of those ten Kings is En-ma-daio who sits in the middle of the hall. Buddhism teaches us to live well and honestly by showing us one of the worlds of the afterlife.

Was this article helpful?
Help us improve the site
Give Feedback

Thank you for your support!

Your feedback has been sent.