- 1 min read

Kumano Hayatama Taisha Shrine

Start afresh by making a pilgrimage to Hayatama Shrine!

In January 2011, I visited Kumano Hayatama Taisha Shrine in Wakayama, after visiting Kumano Nachi Taisha Shrine, both of which are the part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The Kumano Kodo (a series of ancient pilgrimage routes in Kumano region) is called, 'The Route of Life'. Pilgrims in olden times walked this route seeking redemption and salvation. Climbing this rough-and-tumble route to reach Kumano must have been a series of unimaginable hardships, but they believed they would be given the courage and determination to start a new life at the end of the penance. This is why Kumano Hayatama Taisha Shrine is called 'A Place of Resurrection'.

Three Major Shrines in Kumano 1. Nachi Taisha Shrine and Nachi Falls 2. Kumano Hayatama Taisha Shrine 3. Kumano Hongu Taisha Shrine

More info

Find out more about Kumano Hayatama Taisha.

Was this article helpful?
Help us improve the site
Give Feedback

Thank you for your support!

Your feedback has been sent.