A big part of traveling to any new country is the joy of being able to try new cuisine, especially a region's iconic dishes. If you're a vegan visiting Japan, you may be concerned that you won't be able to enjoy some traditional foods here - but fear not, more and more places are popping up with vegan alternatives of Japanese favorites.
You've got to applaud T's Tantan for serving up completely vegan ramen in two very convenient locations for travelers - one premises is located at Haneda Airport, and they've got another at Tokyo Station. They offer a number of different ramen varieties on their menu, and a host of side dishes (everything is vegan!) including a soy karaage (fried "chicken") and veggie-filled gyoza.
Tokyo Station: 1F JR Tokyo Station, Marunouchi 1-9-1, Chiyoda, Tokyo, 100-0005.
Narita Airport: Narita Airport T2, 4th floor, South food courtyard.
Halal Ramen Ouka [Closed]
As well as providing halal-friendly meals, the veggie ramen at Halal Ramen Ouka is vegan friendly. It's also presented in a way that provides a real feast for the eyes, with plenty of colored vegetables used as ingredients and garnishes. Depending on the time of day that you visit, you may find yourself having to wait - it's become quite a popular spot.
1 Chome-11-7 Shinjuku, Shinjuku City, Tokyo 160-0022.
Ain Soph Journey - Tokyo and Kyoto locations
When it comes to sweet treats, Japan has become known across the globe for light and fluffy souffle-style pancakes, and you'll find a host of places that serve them. If you're after a vegan version, look no further than Shinjuku's Ain Soph Journey. Their "heavenly pancakes" (and yes, their name matches their taste) come served with a range of seasonal fruit, nuts, soy ice cream, and soy whipped cream.
There's another Ain Soph Journey location in Kyoto, and they also sell the heavenly pancakes on their menu. They've got an extra pancake option available too - their matcha pancakes - which are also gluten-free.
Tokyo Store: 3-8-9, Shinjuku, Tokyo, 160-0022.
Kyoto Store: 538-6, Nakanocho, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, 604-8042.
You may be thinking to yourself "sushi - doesn't that involve raw fish?". Not at all! Sushi refers to vinegared rice served with a range of different ingredients - and yes, seafood is a common one, but there are veggie options too. KiboKo in Tokyo brand themselves as a wine bar serving small, tapas style food plates (again, everything is vegan), and vegan sushi is just one of the options. Depending on what's in season, your vegan sushi may be topped with things like eggplant, green onions, or root vegetables.
4th Floor, 2 Chome-5-8 Shinjuku, Tokyo, 160-0022.