- 1 min read

Fuji Views from the 5 Lakes Area

Mount Fuji from several different angles

At the foot of Mount Fuji, a number of lakes offer different views of Japan's most famous mountain. Among them Lake Sai, Lake Kawaguchi, Lake Motosu, Lake Yamanaka and Lake Shoji make up the Fuji Five Lakes region - in Japanese, Fujigoko. This region, located in Yamanashi Prefecture, offers various superb views of the mountain that recently became a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The famous view immortalized on ¥1000 notes is the view from Lake Motosu. Mount Fuji loses none of its imposing presence from this angle of view.

You can take a Fujikyu Line train to Kawaguchiko, or you can get a Highway Bus from Shinjuku. Buses to the other lakes are available at Kawaguchiko Station

Was this article helpful?
Help us improve JapanTravel.com
Give Feedback

Thank you for your support!

Your feedback has been sent.